ABPCO set for a successful year with six additions to Executive Board during virtual AGM

Pictured: Heather Lishman ABPCO’s Association Director.

The Association of British Professional Conference Organisers (ABPCO) confirmed the appointment of six industry leaders and experts to its Executive Board during yesterday’s virtual AGM.

Attended by over 50 members, the AGM served as a platform to outline ABPCO’s ambitious plans for the upcoming year.  These will build on a strong past year, including growth across all areas of the association’s offering.  The plans offer significant opportunities for growth and advancement of the UK’s only association dedicated to the organisers of association conferences and events.

Also announced was the opening of entries for the 2023 ABPCO Excellence Awards via https://www.abpco.org/events/abpco-excellence-awards-2023

The new board members bring a wealth of expertise and fresh perspectives to ABPCO, ensuring continued progress and long-term success for the association.  The new board members are:

  • Madalina Marincas – Opening Doors and Venues
  • Katie Bolton – MCI UK
  • Sarvjit Wunsch – Association of Upper Gastrointestinal Surgery
  • Sammy Connell – NASUWT – The Teachers’ Union
  • Sarah Vaughan – The Chartered Institute of Trade Mark Attorneys
  • Kate Sargent – Bioscientifica Ltd

During the AGM, ABPCO’s chairs, Sarah Byrne and Emma Duffy, also expressed thanks, on behalf of the whole association, to four departing board members who have each played integral roles in the association’s growth and achievements over the last few years:

  • Barbara Calderwood – MCI UK and past co-chair of ABPCO
  • Michael Smith – CBI and past co-chair of ABPCO
  • Martin Linfield – James Hallam and outgoing treasurer of ABPCO
  • David Parker – Royal College of Physicians
  • Laura Wilson – Speakeasy

Martin Linfield is succeeded in the role of treasurer by incoming board member, Kate Sargent.

“As these dedicated individuals join ABPCO’s executive board, the association looks ahead to another successful year, driven by the passion of our members.  We look forward to capitalising on past achievements and embracing new opportunities for growth, innovation, and professional development,” concludes Heather Lishman, ABPCO’s Association Director.

Adam Parry
Author: Adam Parry

Adam is the co-founder and editor of www.eventindustrynews.com Adam, a technology evangelist also organises Event Tech Live, Europe’s only show dedicated to event technology and the Event Technology Awards. Both events take place in November, London.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.