Meetings Industry Association reveals the miaList 2019 shortlist


The Meetings Industry Association (mia) has announced the shortlist for its coveted miaList 2019.

Shining a spotlight on the very best talent within the business meetings and events sector, the miaList recognises the individuals who go above and beyond the call of duty, inspire those around them and play an instrumental role in making the organisation they work for so successful.

The shortlisted individual nominees are:

Alex Penn, Event Exeter at the University of Exeter
Andrew Dixon, The Cookery School at The Grand, York
Ben Chatburn, Pavilions of Harrogate
Caroline Bull, CCT Venues
James Hunter, Hawthorn
James Mahaffey, New Place Hotel
Jenny Harding, Trinity Event Solutions
Jessica Winskill, The Grand, York
Jo Kenny, Lime Venue Portfolio
Joanne Wilson, ACE Bookings
John Gilbert, The Racing Centre
Jordan Lewis-Pryde, Ministry Venues
Lucy Ann Clarke, Manchester Central
Matthew Cogbill, Caper & Berry
Naveen Leer, Whittlebury Park
Philip Levy, Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Renata Stiklinskaite, Hospitality Guaranteed
Sam Gardiner, Imago Venues
Sarah Tweddle, Hospitality Guaranteed
Wendy Alders, InterContinental London Park Lane
Yasmin Okerika, The Grand, Brighton


Nominees were assessed by an esteemed panel of industry stalwarts, including Gill Smillie of Conference Venues Countrywide, Mark Gallen of MG Sales Performance, Robert Kenwood of YOU search & select, Lacy Curtis-Ward of The Lensbury, Amanda Thurlow of ACCA, Paul Southern of Central Hall Westminster and Julie Shorrock of Hotel and Travel Solutions.

The prestigious miaList 2019 will feature 10 names alongside dedicated ‘Leadership’ and ‘Rising Star’ honours. Those securing a place on the sought-after miaList 2019, sponsored by Epson UK, will be revealed at a celebratory lunch on 7 November at Central Hall, Westminster.

Meanwhile, teams who have collectively made a significant impact on their organisation will be shortlisted by the judges in due course before being subjected to a public online vote to secure the Team title.

Jane Longhurst, chief executive of the mia, said: “We were thrilled by the caliber of entries this year and to be able to reveal such a strong list of shortlisted candidates for our miaList 2019. We are very fortunate to have such a wealth of talent within our industry and it’s an honour to be able to recognise and reward those who go above and beyond through our coveted miaList.”

Find out more about each of the shortlisted nominees here:

Molly joined the editorial team in March 2019. She has several years’ experience working in broadcast and journalism, as well as marketing and PR. Past experience includes working for the BBC and independent publishing houses. If you have a story you think Molly might be interested in, please email: