The Association for Women in Events​ (AWE), a not for profit organisation supporting gender equality and diversity in the events industry, has announced its 2019 board members and executive committee. The association received a significant number of applications for 12 open board positions. The Succession Planning Task Force spent several weeks vetting candidates for these important leadership roles. The Board of Directors is expected to guide the vision of the association and shape the community surrounding the organisation.

2019 Incoming Board Members (beginning a two-year term in 2019): ​​Adriana Gallegos, Alleah Crawford, Carrie Abernathy CMP, CEM, CSEP, Courtney Stanley, Gracie Jones, Greta Ask, Jenn Artura, Kari Messenger, Kelsey Dixon, Leigh Long, Linda Vaji and Maggie Menozzi

2019 Board Members (finishing a two-year term in 2019)​​: David Kliman, Danielle Duran Baron, Mas Tadesse, Jackie Richards, Shameka Jennings, MTA, CMP, DES, Valerie Sumner, Judy Chambers, CEM and Cattleya Wongkongkatap

2019 Incoming Executive Committee:


President: Julie Sullivan, CEM
Vice President: Marie-Claire Andrews Treasurer: Johnnie White
Secretary: April Walsh
Past President: Kiki Fox

“We are pleased to welcome the 2019-2020 slate of board members. We are always thrilled and humbled by the caliber of applicants who want to be a part of our organisation. With such outstanding individuals, the decision process was incredibly difficult. The 2019 Board of Directors have the intellect, passion and dedication to take AWE to new heights. 2019 is a bittersweet year, as it’s the last year an AWE founder will be on the Executive Committee and we couldn’t ask for a better group to shape AWE and carry out its mission.” Kiki J. Fox, ​2018 AWE Co-founder and President.

The board members hold two-year roles. New board members were chosen from an array of fields including education, marketing, association, corporate and hospitality spanning the globe from Seattle to Boston to Mexico City. The official 2019 Board of Directors roster will be published on their ​website​ in January 2019. The full slate of 2019 board members, returning board members and executive committee can be found ​here​​.

Adam is the co-founder and editor of Adam, a technology evangelist also organises Event Tech Live, Europe’s only show dedicated to event technology and the Event Technology Awards. Both events take place in November, London.